Foster Care Justice Alliance

Defending the Rights of the Child

http://www.FosterJustice.com

 

Legislative Update

April 8, 2009

 

 

GOLF TOURNAMENT: We will be participating in the Exchange Club Charity Golf Tournament June 27, at Walter Hall Golf Course in Everett. Have fun playing golf and help us raise funds to support foster kids. Golfers and Sponsors needed! Please contact us for details.

 

 

UPDATE

 

A lot has happened in the last couple weeks. Here it is in brief: SB 5811 was amended with 5266, 5577, 5758. The language in SB 5510 was replaced with the language from HB 1782. All the original language and intent of HB 1782 was removed and replaced with SSB 5811, SSB 5803, SSB 5577 and SSB 5758.

 

Confused? Yeah, me too.

 

Here are the important points in a bit more detail:

 

All our bills are moving forward, which is a good thing. We still need e-mails and phone calls to keep them moving. Only a three weeks left in this session.

 

 

ACTION ITEMS:

 

 

House Rules Committee

Representative

Room

Phone

E-mail

District

Chopp, Frank (D) Chair

LEG 339C

(360) 786-7920

chopp.frank@leg.wa.gov

43

DeBolt, Richard (R) *

LEG 335C

(360) 786-7896

debolt.richard@leg.wa.gov

20

Armstrong, Mike (R)

LEG 426A

(360) 786-7832

armstrong.mike@leg.wa.gov

12

Bailey, Barbara (R)

JLOB 406

(360) 786-7914

bailey.barbara@leg.wa.gov

10

Eddy, Deborah (D)

LEG 132D

(360) 786-7848

eddy.deborah@leg.wa.gov

48

Ericks, Mark (D)

JLOB 203

(360) 786-7900

ericks.mark@leg.wa.gov

1

Green, Tami (D)

JLOB 327

(360) 786-7958

green.tami@leg.wa.gov

28

Hasegawa, Bob (D)

JLOB 425

(360) 786-7862

hasegawa.bob@leg.wa.gov

11

Hinkle, Bill (R)

JLOB 401

(360) 786-7808

hinkle.bill@leg.wa.gov

13

Hudgins, Zachary (D)

LEG 438A

(360) 786-7956

hudgins.zachary@leg.wa.gov

11

Johnson, Norm (R)

JLOB 414

(360) 786-7810

johnson.norm@leg.wa.gov

14

Kelley, Troy (D)

JLOB 319

(360) 786-7890

kelley.troy@leg.wa.gov

28

Kessler, Lynn (D)

LEG 339A

(360) 786-7904

kessler.lynn@leg.wa.gov

24

Kretz, Joel (R)

LEG 335A

(360) 786-7988

kretz.joel@leg.wa.gov

7

Kristiansen, Dan (R)

LEG 427A

(360) 786-7967

kristiansen.dan@leg.wa.gov

39

Liias, Marko (D)

JLOB 434

(360) 786-7972

liias.marko@leg.wa.gov

21

Moeller, Jim (D)

LEG 436A

(360) 786-7872

moeller.jim@leg.wa.gov

49

Morrell, Dawn (D)

JLOB 331

(360) 786-7968

morrell.dawn@leg.wa.gov

25

Morris, Jeff (D)

LEG 430

(360) 786-7970

morris.jeff@leg.wa.gov

40

Santos, Sharon Tomiko (D)

LEG 434A

(360) 786-7944

santos.sharontomiko@leg.wa.gov

37

Schmick, Joe (R)

JLOB 419

(360) 786-7844

schmick.joe@leg.wa.gov

9

Springer, Larry (D)

LEG 132E

(360) 786-7822

springer.larry@leg.wa.gov

45

Van De Wege, Kevin (D)

JLOB 316

(360) 786-7916

vandewege.kevin@leg.wa.gov

24

Warnick, Judy (R)

JLOB 403

(360) 786-7932

warnick.judy@leg.wa.gov

13

 

 

Senate Rules Committee

Senator (or member)

Room

Phone

E-mail

District

Owen, Brad (D) Lt.Gov. Chair

LEG 220

(360) 786-7700

ltgov@leg.wa.gov

NA

Franklin, Rosa (D) Vice Chair

LEG 312

(360) 786-7656

franklin.rosa@leg.wa.gov

29

Hewitt, Mike (R) *

LEG 314

(360) 786-7630

hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov

16

Brown, Lisa (D)

LEG 307

(360) 786-7604

brown.lisa@leg.wa.gov

3

Eide, Tracey (D)

LEG 305

(360) 786-7658

eide.tracey@leg.wa.gov

30

Fraser, Karen (D)

LEG 404

(360) 786-7642

fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov

22

Haugen, Mary Margaret (D)

JAC 305

(360) 786-7618

haugen.marymargaret@leg.wa.gov

10

Kauffman, Claudia (D)

LEG 414

(360) 786-7692

kauffman.claudia@leg.wa.gov

47

Keiser, Karen (D)

JAC 224

(360) 786-7664

keiser.karen@leg.wa.gov

33

King, Curtis (R)

INB 205

(360) 786-7626

king.curtis@leg.wa.gov

14

Kohl-Welles, Jeanne (D)

JAC 219

(360) 786-7670

kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov

36

Marr, Chris (D)

LEG 417

(360) 786-7610

marr.chris@leg.wa.gov

6

Murray, Ed (D)

JAC 215

(360) 786-7628

murray.edward@leg.wa.gov

43

Parlette, Linda Evans (R)

LEG 316

(360) 786-7622

parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov

12

Pridemore, Craig (D)

JAC 212

(360) 786-7696

pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov

49

Regala, Debbie (D)

JAC 233

(360) 786-7652

regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov

27

Schoesler, Mark (R)

INB 110

(360) 786-7620

schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov

9

Stevens, Val (R)

INB 105

(360) 786-7676

stevens.val@leg.wa.gov

39

Zarelli, Joseph (R)

INB 204

(360) 786-7634

zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov

18

 

 

Donít know who your representatives are? Click here: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder

All e-mail addresses: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/memberemail

 

Toll Free Legislative Hotline: 1-800-562-6000

FCJA 24-hour Message Line: 1-484-288-4364

Foster Care Justice Alliance, P.O. Box 233, Woodinville, WA 98072-0233

 

http://www.FosterJustice.com

Join Us in Facebook: http://apps.facebook.com/causes/202325

 

Foster Care Justice Alliance is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Tax deductable donations can be made online, by mail, or in person at any Bank of America branch (WA State): http://www.fosterjustice.com/donate/donate.htm. Ask your employer about matching gifts.

 

To subscribe or unsubscribe to these updates: http://www.fosterjustice.com/about/contact.htm

 

 

 

SB 5510 Regarding notification in dependency matters

Proposed by FCJA: "Encouraging Early Engagement of All Parenting Resources"

Supported by the Child Welfare Advocacy Coalition

 

Status: On the House floor waiting for a vote.

 

 

We expect 5510 will go to conference to reconcile the House and Senate versions.

 

Download our position paper here: http://www.fosterjustice.com/leg/Encouraging%20Early%20Engagement%20of%20All%20Parenting%20Resources.doc

 

ACTION ITEMS:

 

 

 

HB 1782 / SB 5811 Concerning foster care placements

1782 Status: In Senate Rules Committee

5811 Status: In House Rules Committee

 

These are both now omnibus bills, with many similar sections. 1782 used to be the House implementation of our Encouraging Early Engagement recommendation, but it has been heavily amended so I am now including it in this section with 5811.

 

 

 

ACTION ITEMS:

 

 

 

SB 5431 Regarding placement of a child returning to out-of-home care

Proposed by FCJA, Continuity of Care and the Importance of Psychological Relationships

 

Status: Passed unanimous in the Senate

Hearing in the House Early Learning & Children's Services, March 19, 8 AM, JLOB E

 

If a child returns home, and then returns to foster care, this bill requires the department to place the child when possible with a foster family where the child has been before, if the family is willing and available, and in the best interest of the child. The department is to consider the length of time and the child's attachment to the caregivers.

 

ACTION ITEM: Ask your representatives to VOTE YES!

 

 

 

Toll Free Legislative Hotline: 1.800.562.6000

Find out who are your legislators: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder

E-mail addresses for all lawmakers: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/memberemail

 

FCJA Facebook Page: http://apps.facebook.com/causes/202325

http://www.FosterJustice.com

http://www.SiritaLaw.com