Legislative Update – Supporting Foster Kids and Children’s Rights

http://www.SiritaLaw.com

March 4, 2008

UPDATE:

 

This is it.  These bills have passed in the House, passed in the Senate policy committee, and passed in the Senate Ways & Means.  They are now in Rules waiting for a senator to “Pull” them to the Senate floor for a vote.

 

The last day is FRIDAY.  If they don’t get voted on by the whole Senate by Friday, it’s all over.   Contact your senators and ask them to bring these bills to a vote, especially if you are a constituent of a senator in the Rules Committee.

 

ACTION ITEMSAsk your senator in Rules to “Pull” these bills to the Senate Floor:

 

Contact Rules Committee Members:

 

Rosa Franklin - Vice Chair (D)

franklin.rosa@leg.wa.gov

District 29

(360) 786-7656

Mike Hewitt - Ranking Minority Member (R)

hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov

District 16

(360) 786-7630

Lisa Brown (D)

brown.lisa@leg.wa.gov

District 3

(360) 786-7604

Tracey Eide (D)

eide.tracey@leg.wa.gov

District 30

(360) 786-7658

Karen Fraser (D)

fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov

District 22

(360) 786-7642

Mary Margaret Haugen (D)

haugen.marymargaret@leg.wa.gov

District 10

(360) 786-7618

Karen Keiser (D)

keiser.karen@leg.wa.gov

District 33

(360) 786-7664

Adam Kline (D)

kline.adam@leg.wa.gov

District 37

(360) 786-7688

Jeanne Kohl-Welles (D)

kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov

District 36

(360) 786-7670

Rosemary McAuliffe (D)

mcauliffe.rosemary@leg.wa.gov

District 1

(360) 786-7600

Ed Murray (D)

murray.edward@leg.wa.gov

District 43

(360) 786-7628

Linda Evans Parlette (R)

parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov

District 12

(360) 786-7622

Cheryl Pflug (R)

pflug.cheryl@leg.wa.gov

District 5

(360) 786-7608

Debbie Regala (D)

regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov

District 27

(360) 786-7652

Mark Schoesler (R)

schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov

District 9

(360) 786-7620

Harriet Spanel (D)

spanel.harriet@leg.wa.gov

District 40

(360) 786-7678

Val Stevens (R)

stevens.val@leg.wa.gov

District 39

(360) 786-7676

Joseph Zarelli (R)

zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov

District 18

(360) 786-7634

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is no time to waste.  Call or e-mail your representatives now to support foster kids.

 

Don’t know who your representatives are? Click here: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder

All e-mail addresses: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/memberemail

 

Toll Free Legislative Hotline: 1.800.562.6000

Even if you don’t know your district, the operators will find it for you.

When they ask to which representative, say “All of them!”

 

 

 

HB 3205 Promoting the long-term well-being of children

Status: Passed HSC, needs a hearing in Senate Ways and Means

 

ACTION NEEDED:

 

This bill requires the department to file a termination of parental rights petition if a child has been in out-of-home care for 15 of the last 22 months.  The Attorney General’s office has filed a $1.5 million fiscal note to this bill, which is interesting – this means the AG is saying this bill will cost them more money to follow what has already been federal law for nine years under the Adoption Safe Families Act (ASFA) ’97. 

 

Senate Ways & Means amended 3205 to remove the provision that allows voluntary out-of-home placement agreements for adopted foster children in crisis.  Voluntary placements is now a battle for next year, but the remainder, which is actually the original bill, is still critical and worth fighting for now.

 

 

 

 

HB 2822 – Concerning the family and juvenile court improvement program.

Status: Passed HSC, needs a hearing in Senate Ways and Means

 

ACTION NEEDED:

 

HB 2822 encourages reform of the family courts by creating a fund that is available to courts that:

 

 

 

 

HB 2679 – Improve educational outcomes for students in foster care

Status: Passed HSC, needs a hearing in Senate Ways and Means

 

ACTION NEEDED:

 

Directs the school districts to report to the legislature on the educational progress of foster children, and gives schools grant money to create programs to improve their educational outcomes. Grant money may be used for tutoring, counseling, extracurricular activities, school pictures, and yearbooks.  Moms and Dads usually pay for this stuff – but if you don’t have a mom or a dad, you just have to watch other kids get cool things.  This bill helps kids in foster care have a normal childhood.

 

 

Toll Free Legislative Hotline: 1.800.562.6000

Find out who are your legislators: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/DistrictFinder

E-mail addresses for all lawmakers: http://apps.leg.wa.gov/memberemail